The Nerve

She had allowed the nightmare that was this social engagement incubate too long in her mind.  Her vanity would simply not permit another woman, another prettier woman, to be seen in the same dress that she herself was wearing. “Really, the Nerve” she said as she picked up the nearest steak knife and began slashing off the offending dress, oblivious to the fact that it still had a (not for very long )  living body within it.

Incubate, Nightmare, Vanity

13 Responses to “The Nerve”

  1. Wicked good. Dark and a flair of dramatic wit. Love it.

    Lurid

  2. *evil laugh!!!!! I love this. Short, dark, and evil all in one!

  3. Good. Good.

    I went with a murderous theme as well. Thank you for reading and commenting on mine.

    • illyriataylor Says:

      so sorry I haven’t been keeping up with everybody, wrist in a cast and bad computer..now I have wifi so it should be easier

  4. blinded by emotions- the crazy is as the crazy does.
    dark and good use of 3WW in your post.

  5. Sounds like a good plan to me! Great short.

  6. Woah! Remind me not to use her tailor!

  7. Have you ever seen “Serial Mom”? This is the kind of thing that would have been good in that movie. I like it (but then I have a dark soul that way).

  8. Yikes.

    My favorite bit is the repetition of “another woman” but with the inclusion of the all-important additional word.

  9. Indeed a brave take on the prompt. Last line twist gave me chills.

  10. ha – well done. The very nerve!!

Leave a Reply

