Why did Dante’ neglect to mention the deeper circle of Hell in his famous Inferno?

I have read the tome, and it still did not prepare me to survive in this barren badland I call Desolation.

All seasons here are the same horrid color, or lack thereof.

Searing heat so white it blinds the eyes to anything beyond the front door, if the door hasn’t swelled from the flames.

Freezing cold snow so white that it obliterates any landscape beyond the front door, if the door isn’t barracaded by ice.

Is it any wonder that I have black walls in this prison I call “home”?

It is only against black that white has any beauty at all. 

 

(1) Start your story with a question

(2) Include, in your story, the name of a city that starts with the letter ‘D’

(3) End your story with the word ‘white’ somewhere in the last sentence

Views: 42

Tags:

Share Twitter

Facebook 

 

Comment

                                     

{#aria.rich_text_area}

 

 

 

Stop Following– Don’t email me when people comment

Loading… 

Comment by alisa rynay haller on August 23, 2011 at 1:31pm
Delete Comment

Oh Carol I’m so sorry, sounds like we may be neighbors!lol

Thanx Frank!

Comment by Carrol Strain on August 23, 2011 at 8:43am
Delete Comment

Reads like a poem and describes a feeling I know well.
Comment by Frank Montellano on August 23, 2011 at 7:48am
Delete Comment

Wow, really liked it.
Comment by Jeanette Cheezum on August 21, 2011 at 5:59am
Delete Comment

Done well. I love this line…
Searing heat so white it blinds the eyes to anything beyond the front door, if the door hasn’t swelled from the flames.

Comment by alisa rynay haller on August 19, 2011 at 9:24pm
Delete Comment

thanx all, my computer has another cold, I’m not getting comments and the main page isn’t showing up!
Comment by Coraline J. Thompson on August 19, 2011 at 7:42pm
Delete Comment

And of course, I want your black and white wall, I fall in love with it each time I walk into your house!
Comment by Jessica Lafortune on August 19, 2011 at 12:05pm
Delete Comment

LOVE the last line. Haunting.
Comment by Travis Smith on August 19, 2011 at 6:18am
Delete Comment

Very vivid description, particularly the contrast of searing heat with freezing cold.
Comment by Sandra Davies on August 19, 2011 at 2:00am
Delete Comment

And, of course, you’ve put the Stones into my head.   Neither have I read Dantë, so I don’t know either.
Leave a Reply

