Big Ben

There’s a rumour going around that the term “it was a pallbearer-dropping-the-casket start to the day” is an indication

of it’s going to be a bad day. Still in half sleep half dream mode I remember when the Haller clan actually did drop

Uncle Ben on the way out of the church. Irish Catholics can turn anything into a party, so there were many jokes about

“did anybody ever check for a pulse” and “we knew he’d go down fighting” and finally I stuck the missing bottle of

whiskey in Uncle Ben’s casket and that made him happy enough to let us put him in the ground. Gads, how many

years ago was that? Anyway, considering I have nothing but hilarious recollections of that term I can’t seem to

relate to this new phrase. In the distance there is an ever growing annoying beeping sound that finally reaches

crescendo levels and I jerk awake and slap the snooze button on my alarm clock. Big Ben says it’s 5:30a and I have

to go to work soon. Oh, now I get it.

.

.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Take it Away Tues

it was a pallbearer-dropping-the-casket start to the day

Views: 1

Tags: take_it_away

Share Twitter

Facebook 

 

Comment

                                     

{#aria.rich_text_area}

 

 

 

Follow– Email me when people comment

Loading… 

Comment by Blake N. Cooper on April 14, 2010 at 8:50pm
Delete Comment

Nicely done, Alisa.
Thanks, all, for playing along with my wacky prompt. I thought of it in the elevator the other day. Weird, I know.
Comment by Michael D. Brown on April 14, 2010 at 8:37pm
Delete Comment

Excellent take on the prompt. This phrase is new to me also, but I can see how it describes one of THOSE days to a T. Never would have thought of working it into a dream. Clever writer!
Comment by Coraline J. Thompson on April 14, 2010 at 4:26am
Delete Comment

Hey at least we both got a laugh about the phrase at work today!!!
Comment by Edward Dean on April 13, 2010 at 6:31pm
Delete Comment

Beautiful recollection of a REAL feeling story Alisa! I really don’t care about the facts but I bought the emotional portrayal. Your writing voice is developing into a new reality. I like it.

Leave a Reply

